top of page

Season of "Time After Pentecost"

IMG_6435 site background.jpeg

During "Time After Pentecost", the Church urges her children to be more docile to the promptings of the Holy Ghost Who desires to live in us and animate us with divine love, so that we shall grow in virtue and become more like our Lord. Read more...


During the season of "Time After Pentecost", Mother Church urges her children to be more docile to the promptings of the Holy Ghost Who desires to live in us and animate us with divine love, so that we shall grow in virtue and become ever more like the Holy One of God, our Lord Jesus Christ.

Paschaltime ends with the Saturday after Pentecost.  In the course of the many weeks that follow during the "Time After Pentecost", we shall hear echoes of the Paschal celebrations.  Full of faith and hope, aided by the Holy Ghost, we must now continue to strive for perfection in a Christlike life.

During this time the Church celebrates the Feasts of:

  • the Most Holy Trinity

  • Corpus Christi

  • the Sacred Heart of Jesus

  • St. John the Baptist

  • Sts. Peter and Paul

  • the Most Precious Blood

  • the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

  • Christ the King

  • All Saints

  • All Souls

TIME AFTER PENTECOST from Dom Prosper Gueranger's The Liturgical Year

The solemnity of Pentecost and its octave are over, and the progress of the Liturgical Year introduces us into a new period, which is altogether different from those we have hitherto spent.


From the very beginning of Advent, which is the prelude to the Christmas festival, right up to the anniversary of the descent of the Holy Ghost, we have witnessed the entire series of the mysteries of our Redemption; all have been unfolded to us.

The sequel of seasons and feasts made up a sublime drama, which absorbed our very existence; we have but just come from the final celebration, which was the consummation of the whole. And yet, we have got through but one half of the year.

This does not imply that the period we have still to live is devoid of its own special mysteries; but, instead of keeping our attention by the ceaseless interest of one plan hurrying on its completion, the sacred liturgy is about to put before us an almost unbroken succession of varied episodes, of which some are brilliant with glory, and others exquisite in loveliness, but each one of them bringing its special tribute towards either the development of the dogmas of faith, or the furtherance of the Christian life.

That year’s cycle will thus be filled up; it will disappear; a new one will take its place, bringing before us the same divine facts, and pouring forth the same graces on Christ’s Mystical Body.

This section of the liturgical year, which comprises a little more or a little less than six months, according as Easter is early or late, has always had the character it holds at present. But, although it only admits detached solemnities and feasts, the influence of the moveable portion of the cycle is still observable.

It may have as many as twenty-eight, or as few as 23 weeks. This variation depends not only upon the feast of Easter, which may occur on any of the days between the 2nd of March and 25th of April, inclusively; but, also, on the date of the First Sunday of Advent, the opening of a new ecclesiastical year, and which is always the Sunday nearest the Kalends [i.e., the month’s first day] of December.

In the Roman liturgy, the Sundays of this series go under the name of “Sundays after Pentecost”. As we shall show in the next chapter, that title is the most suitable that could have been given, and is found in the oldest Sacramentaries and Antiphonaries; but it was not universally adopted by even all those churches which followed the Roman Rite; in progress of time, however, that title was the general one.

To mention some of the previous early names:

  • in the Comes of Alcuin, which takes us back to the 8th century, we find the first section of these Sundays called “Sundays after Pentecost”;

  • the second is named “Weeks after the Feast of the Apostles” (post Natale Apostolorum);

  • the third goes under the title of “Weeks after St. Laurence” (post Sancti Laurentii);

  • the fourth has the appellation of “Weeks of the Seventh Month” (September);

  • and, lastly, the fifth is termed “Weeks after St. Michael” (post Sancti Angeli), and lasts till Advent.

As late as the 16th century, many missals of the Western Church gave us these several sections of the Time after Pentecost, but some of the titles varied according to the special saints honored in the respective dioceses, and which were taken as the date-marks of this period of the year.

The Roman Missal, published by order of St. Pius V, has gradually been adopted in all our Latin churches, and has restored the ancient denomination to the ecclesiastical season we have just entered upon; so that the only name under which it is now known amongst us is, the “Time after Pentecost” (post Pentecosten).

(Since 1970, the term "Ordinary Time" has been used in the Missal of Paul VI to refer to the season of  Time After Pentecost.)

IMG_1043 Czestochowa icon - tapestry fix
bottom of page